Colossal and mind control

Do we know how that interaction works…if you steal the colossal away, will it summon it´s other parts on your side of the board aswell?

2 Likes

it should imo by what we know.

I don’t think so, they explained that the other parts came when the creatures comes into play (from hand or not), but when stolen, it doesn’t really comes into play.

I guess the others parts are summoned when :

  • The minion is played
  • The minion is resurrected
  • The minion is pulled from the deck
  • The minion is poping from an in-game effect (deathrattle, random invocation, evolve/devolve)

Just imagine that the minion is so big that he takes more than one spot on the board, but when you mind control, you just steal one part.
I just wonder if, with devolving missiles, the original minion is devolved into a colossal minion, then devolved again, the parts are invoked.

Disclaimer : i’m no dev, so I can tell you i’m sure 100%.

3 Likes

Mind control doesn’t summon.

anyone remember if kinfe juggler threw knives when you mind controlled stuff?

that can point us more towards if stealing things counts as summoning them.

colossal is not a battlecry.

we are specifically told that however the colossal comes into play it summons its appendages. (so as an example, evolving/devolving into one, will spawn the appendages)

3 Likes

Colossal is not a battlecry, they said that the colossal triggers when the minion come into play in any way, not just when the minion is played from hand.

I’m almost sure it doesn’t.

1 Like

Indeed my bad its not a battlecry , i just looked at the Druid card and missed the rest.

My bad.

Reasonably, I only see two ways it would go down. Either you just take the one piece and get nothing in addition, or you steal both pieces at once. I don’t think having it summon the other pieces again is likely, and the pieces aren’t tied together (i.e. they don’t both die when one dies, yes?) so I’d assume you take the one piece and that’s it.

1 Like

I’m guessing that each piece of a Colossal is a separate minion. If you just take control of the big piece, you won’t get the little pieces. If you play against priest, try to make sure that the main body doesn’t get to exactly 3 health. If priests run spell damage cards, maybe you should just pray.

2 Likes

however it comes into play, it will summon its tokens, but mind control takes something already in play

…and the one card i could use on a class like priest to take advantage of my opponent collosals is rotating out
headmaster kelthuzad

There’s no ruling that if the main body disappears, the parts summoned by it disappear as well. Hence, I don’t see Mind Control re-summoning the parts (imagine it like this: you capture Gaia, the drills stay on your opponent’s field, so where does Gaia get its new drills from?).

I’m almost certain it does not.

It will work almost exactly how Dormant works. You can MC a Dormant minion and it does not instantly go Dormant.

Dormant and Colossal likely operate exactly the same:

When they appear on the board FOR THE FIRST TIME, from no matter where, their states activate.

that´s where i´m not sure, i´m quite certain that for dormant the dormant minion and the awakened one basically operate as two different cards.

The Collossus is just one entity however, and logically the summons are part of it´s body, so you´d kinda expect mindcontrolling the main would drag all of it to your side?

this probably would be too much, and as it´s still a card game i agree that it´s most likely it´ll just rob the main body and nothing else happens. But we can´t be sure yet.

1 Like

I’m a good 95% sure it works the way I’m saying just from knowledge of the game mechanics. It would be cool to work the way you say though.

2 Likes

I agree with both. It would be cool and flavourful, but 99% sure it won’t happen.
Mechanically is probably like dormant, but in dormant`s case it would be uncool and flavourless for it to be dormant again.

1 Like

If they have actually programmed it so that if you MC the Colossal all its appendages follow to your side of the board I would have renewed respect for team 5! That would be cool and so flavourful, if it doesn’t work like this they,ve missed a trick imo.

We can also Zola our own Colossals and play them again.

If it worked this way because the appendages are a part of the minion, then it must also make sense that if you kill the colossal minion the appendages die as well.

I’m almost certain it doesn’t work that way. And I don’t think players would want it to work that way.