Ranged attack vs Dune Dervish = Instant death? Solution?

Hello, I am fairly new to dealing with Dune Dervish. Is it true that if you have a incredibly powerful ranged attack and it happens to hit a Dune Dervish while it is spinning, you will kill yourself instantly? I ask this because I have noticed that all three of my hardcore Barbarians with Seismic Slam always die from it. Sometimes the Seismic Slam travels pretty far and I don’t even see a Dune Dervish on screen. I would be slamming left and right like everything was normal, then all of a sudden, the screen turns black and white telling I have died, and I see a Dune Dervish wade in spinning from the edge of the screen. Is there a way to deal with this?

1 Like

Avoid/skip them. They are nasty and have killed my Demon Hunter numerous times.

3 Likes

But sometimes I don’t see them because they are off screen? The only time I know I hit them is when I died. Is there a way to tell if they are part of the mob without seeing them? Do they only appear on certain maps? What if it is a Rift run? Aren’t monsters of the Rift chosen randomly?

And also, really… skipping them? Did Blizzard seriously placed monsters in the game that has no counter? I mean, I can one shot Diablo, but I die when Dune Dervish is on the map? This sounds a bit crazy. There must be a way to counter them. I can’t believe Blizzard would do this.

They spawn in act 2 maps, so be careful when you’re running bounties in act 2 or happen to run a rift with act 2 maps.

If you have no choice but to kill them, circle around them from a distance only stopping to shoot at them in short bursts, that way any reflects won’t hit you. It’s when you’re standing still blazing cannons at them is when you’ll get hit. Or use an attack that can’t be reflected.

2 Likes

What about the Rift? I’m pretty sure I died while doing a Rift run.

You’ll just have to get familiar with the act 2 maps in order to recognize when the rift you’re in is based on act 2 maps.