Poison Scythe mechanics question

I’m hoping some mechanics experts can help me understand how Simulacrum gains damage from Ledgers Disdain when swinging grim scythe. When I tried this build a while back we needed to slot Singularity mage to dump essence, because Ledgers Disdain only gave a damage buff based on the amount of essence generated.

Now I’m seeing a version that drops Singularity mage and yet is still able to benefit from the phylactery even when at full essence/no essence generated. I’m stumped on why it works.

Thx for any help!

1 Like

i wonder about this too.

Rob did a 4man GR as trashclearer and had nova skilled instead of mages like everyone else… Never got an answer to this.

I just know that theres something wrong with the simulacrums using this and ledgers but i have no indepths knowledge aswell :confused:

On the 2.6.9 PTR, simulacrums ignored level of essence. They were always treated as having the Leger’s disdain multiplier for Grim Scythe damage, regardless of level of essence.

This means it’s probably more efficient to position your simulacrums well, and always spend time attacking, rather than spending time dumping essence, in longer term dps scenarios.

Results in:

• 4 attacks from simulacrums over 2 attack cycles with full multiplier

vs

• 3 attacks sims + player per 1 attack cycle and 1 cycle spent with mage essence dump

It’s simply a dps increase, assuming Simulacrums are positioned well.

The only reason I included mage in my LoD Scythe speed build was that there are some situations where if the sims are out of position, dealing damage myself is rather nice to have as an option. Come to think of it, that build also has Briggs pull, which scales Leger’s nicely with Krysbin and density, so it makes more sense to have higher cyclical, bursty (short term) damage than constant damage.