D2 noob here, questions about multiplayer functionality

Hi, so I understand the only way to play multiplayer currently will be on bnet, correct? If my girlfriend and I are playing and a rando joins our server, can we go hostile and gank them? Also, can you play SP and then play that same character on Bnet? I know ladder is all new characters but not sure about SP to non ladder.

1 Like

Yes, you can openly hostile anyone joining whatever game you join.

No, SP characters are strictly SP.

4 Likes

Correct me if I’m wrong but I believe multiplayer is just through Bnet at present. I don’t know if SP has a multiplayer function through the internet. You cannot bring SP characters to regular Bnet ladder/non ladder as far as I’m aware too.

You can hostile randoms. But you can also put a password on the game to keep it private.

Edit: that might be a bit confusing but SP has different functions to MP Bnet play. Such as the ability to save maps and emulate the number of players.

1 Like

You can also set the game to have a password so randoms cannot join. Or you can set level restrictions so players with more than X levels difference from you cannot join.

Exactly how/if an “open” battlenet type feature comes to be available (allowing single player characters to play together) remains to be seen, and looks doubtful, currently.

Awesome thanks! I can deal with no sp to bnet, but not ganking passersby would be a deal breaker, as we like to roleplay chaotic evil, for a lack of better words. How does the level thing work for people joining games? Like if you are on a certain level, does it put you in games where people are a certain level range? Or can anyone join any game any time?

That’s the beautiful thing about D2. You are free to do what you want. You could even join games and try to more aggressively gank people.

It’s a setting you choose when hosting the game.