What timeline should I do?

Not sure if this is in the right place. My brother got me to start playing WoW and I’m still new to the whole thing. I decided to create a Worgen but I don’t know what content I should play. I tried the WoD with a Dranei and I don’t like it at all. I find it boring and tedious. I wanted to do the Cataclysm timeline but I guess I have to be level 30 to start it. My Worgen is level 17. Anyone have any suggestions on what I should do?

You can still do the Cataclysm timeline, and just use the Eastern Kingdoms and Kalimdor zones to get to 30. (It probably will only take one or two zones.)

A couple of suggestions:

Darkshore’s story is pretty tied into the events of Cataclysm, and as a early zone, it’s pretty efficient. The easiest way to start it is to go to the Howling Oak in Darnasus and pick up “Breaking Waves of Change.”

Badland’s main questline has lots of Dragon-based story that’s relevent to both Dragonflight and Cataclysm. It also has the fun side quest series “The Day Deathwing Came.”

This one is a bit more annoying to start, as the starter quest “Fuselight, Ho!” is in Eastern Plaguelands, which is a pain to get to at low levels. (Unless you happen to be a Death Knight who hasn’t started Legion, in which case your Death gate will take you very near to where you need to be.) Otherwise, the most straitforward method will just to be make the long run from Ironforge.

thank you. I did not know I could go there. I started the WOTLK and so far I’ve only gained 1 level and I’ve been at if for about half an hour. Am I doing something wrong? It just seems like the quests are only giving me around 300xp and I’m making zero progress.

Open world map…
Each area has level numbers…
Each area also shows " ! " ; quests that continue your progress.
Try to do one or two quests at a time, but also try not to do too many, or you will get confused. Each quest hub may have a quest to go to another quest hub.