What made you decide against maining a Paladin?

Just came back to the game after a long break. I started playing in BFA and spent the entire expansion just levelling and learning classes. I never got anywhere and decided that if I was going to come back, I’d need to choose a main with all 3 roles so I can actually experience endgame content. Narrowed it down to Paladin and Monk because I’m not a fan of Druids. I want to do everything: raids, mythic+, and PvP.

What made you choose a Monk over a Paladin?

1 Like

I played paladin all through BFA and then switched to my monk for 9.0 and 9.1. I didn’t like the change to ret that made it so you would just press a long list of buff spells before actually doing damage. I also do not like the change to make it so holy used holy power.

In BFA my guild also didn’t have a monk for the 5% physical damage.

I mean, I guess it depends on what role you want to play.

If the role is DPS, as a paladin you can straight up forget it in Mythic+. There’s absolutely no reason to take a Retribution paladin into mythic+ content ever, I mean, unless you’re friends with the person, even though they do fantastic DPS right now. You can probably go Ret in raids but certainly wouldn’t be wanted at any serious level.

Theres a number of factors going on here.

For M+, paladins are the only melee DPS who don’t offer the group near mandatory utility or buff the damage of the rest of the party ([heroism, battle rez, shroud,] [battle shout, chaos brand, mystic touch]).

For raid, similar situation. There’s a limitation on how many melee can realistically dps a boss during spread mechanics and that means you have to maximize which ones offer something of value to the raid besides DPS numbers.