What are these "logs" that everyone is talking about?

What are these “logs” that everyone is talking about ?

And how does it work ?

I’m asking because several PuG raids require “logs” to join.

https://www.warcraftlogs.com/

You can log the performance of yourself and your group any time you run a dungeon or raid. Some people will require them as proof of your past performance in order to join a group for harder content.

I dont’ really understand how this works… I’m a Tank but it looks like it’s grading me on my DPS ? And it’s giving me ZEROs on fights where I Heal ?

Why is it only showing me with one Karazhan run, when I’ve run multiple times ?

This all seems pretty sketchy to me since I’m just starting out with pretty terrible gear, then of course I’m going to rank low on the damage meter… But I’ve recently racked up some new gear and will be able to perform better, but it seems like a Catch-22… If someone just goes my old gear & old performance then I will never have better “logs” to prove myself with my newer, better gear ?

I think a more fair comparison would be “meters” because then you would be able to judge by all aspects like dispels, interrupts, healing, overhealing, and damage taken:
Were you being stupid & standing in mechanics you were supposed to get out of ? …Which in & of itself can also be mis-judged since just yesterday I called out over Discord for the other Tank to get out of the poison cloud on the ground, so that the melee dps could do their job !!!

What about if you’re doing Magtheridon’s Lair and you’re one of the five unfortunate people to be assigned as clickers ? …Then of course your DPS is going to suffer because of it ?

I don’t know man… I’m new, help me understand ?

It lets you track all metrics. Damage done, damage taken, healing done, threat, debuffs, dispells, etc. It’s all there if you spend some time and look around.