Thoughts on In Game Guides

Optional Context:

I have been using a paid addon called Zygor for more than 2 years. Before that I used Dugi guides. The original promise or marketing behind these guides is to get the “fastest leveling route.”

Today, the “faster leveling route” is probably just do the intro zone (the first choice when creating a new character), that gets you to level 10, and just start hitting dungeons as soon as you can. All the heirlooms will carry you if you don’t have them. Which makes low level dungeons very boring. They make me want to not have alts, but that’s another story.

A lot of free alternatives to these have popped up like Azeroth Autopilot (now Azeroth Pilot Reloaded), TomCat’s Tours, and WoW-Pro Addon.

I’m not here to advertise anything, I have issues with the paid addons, but just to throw this in here, none of these come close in quanity and quality compared to Zygor. It’s not just that the quest guides are better (I refuse to call them “leveling guides”) or the cleaner UI. It’s the auction tools that I like better than auctionator, the more complete higher quality/quanity guides for achievements, dailies, events, professions, pets, mounts, etc. The gear finder that gives you the dungeon or raid with the top chance for an upgrade. I even use the gold guide from time to time when I’m strapped.

As someone who always bought the guide books with games as a kid, I find it very satisfying and relaxing to just work through everything. I’m not into the amount of effort it takes to get an achievement like “Well Read” by picking up on game clues to randomly visiting places. Gimme an arrow, I’ll go there. This is me personally, I’m a software engineer, I find “grind challenges” to be a pedantic waste of time. I get my challenge kicks from that. Games are for relaxing, that’s it.

To the point: