Tank Aggro Issues

This might be the wrong place to post this, but since I’m new to tanking I thought this was a good place to start.

I’ve had experiences here and there with tanking in classic dungeons to wrath. I’m a relatively new player but I have DPS experience in BFA Mythic 8s on average, though I decided to try tanking to understand more about each role in a dungeon.

While running a random Wailing Caverns I realized early on that I could not keep aggro to save a life. Every dungeon before hand I could keep aggro on everything no problem. I even ran the dungeon before on a previous go with no problems.

I had a shadow priest who could do so much damage I couldn’t taunt adds off them. The ret paladin also started taking aggro and I got to a point where nothing I did as a protection warrior could keep aggro if I didn’t have my taunt up. At one point their damage threatened to steal a boss from me. I’m fairly good at noticing when I lose aggro and I’m quick to try and pull the add back. Is there something I am missing or were they just doing enough damage to nullify me.

Luckily I made my plight clear that I was having issues keeping aggro and my group didn’t vote to kick me.

In lower level dungeons tanks don’t have a whole lot of tools to hold onto agro. Whereas dps at low levels can push a lot of damage in relation to the level of content you’re doing. Especially if they’re in full heirlooms.

For instance if you charge in and thunder clap a group, and the dps start in on a different target than you are focusing, they’re likely to pull agro simply because you only had a small amount of threat generation on their target. You can mitigate this with tab targeting and taunts, but at the end of the day, you don’t have a whole lot of options at level 25 to hold everything on you if the group is all on a different target than you are.