Talent Trees in Shadow Lands

I know I’ll likely meet resistance about this: for Shadow Lands, what with the level squish and all of that, I would like to see the talent trees revert to what we had in Wrath.

I’ve never liked these tiered talent trees, especially because when leveling back in vanilla / BC / Wrath you may not have gotten a new skill every level, but you at least got a skill point that you could use.

I understand why the trees needed to be redone – I’m a developer in my day job so I get just how crazy that must have been getting. But these talent trees are sort of boring, and they only rarely offer a reward for leveling up (as of now once ever 15 or so levels).

I know, the odds are high that this falls on deaf ears, but on the off chance that perhaps I am not alone in my distaste for the current talent system, maybe we could bring that back? I miss investment I felt from choosing where to allocate a talent point, especially at lower levels when some of the more open talents could help you still – it’s one of the reason I enjoy wow classic.

8 Likes

So were the old ones.

4 Likes

There is both downsides and upsides to both Talent Tree’s systems. But to perfectly fair, the current talent tree will go with the level squish in SL, starting at level 15 for Tier 1, then going every 5 levels until the final tier at level 50.

Cause putting 5 points into a talent for +5% spell damage is so interesting…

4 Likes

Classic would like to have a word with you - especially since that’s not at all accurate.

1 Like

No.

…Like your loa always says?

Not really, no.

2 Likes

Oh yeah, You’re right.

Adding that plus .1 percent to spell power was a truly exhilarating experience.

My bad, not boring at all.

1 Like