State of RP in 2021

Hey everyone. I’ve been playing on WrA for a few years now and have noticed lately that the prevalence of RP seems to have decreased since the buildup to Shadowlands. A few friends and I figured that this was due to people burning out on BFA, but even after Shadowlands has been live for a couple of months, it seems like there are overall less people logging on for RP.

Admittedly I play both factions (though I am a Horde main) and don’t exactly hang out in Stormwind or Orgrimmar (city RP isn’t really my cup of tea anymore). This perception comes mainly from noticing that less of the people I used to RP with are logging on, and it seems like there are less people showing up to events (in guilds I’m in and at server events I’ve attended).

This isn’t intended to be a “doom and gloom” thread; I’ve been playing Shadowlands and really enjoying it. The raid is fun, the dungeons are good, there’s something for me to like in every zone and covenant. But the RP scene feels a bit barren compared to what it used to be.

What do you think? Have you noticed a slowdown in your own community/circle of friends? Or are things just as good if not better than they were in BFA/Legion?

2 Likes

Admittedly I seldom step outside Orgrimmar these days when I’m not leveling, but it feels just as busy as vibrant as it always did.

2 Likes

I can safely say that I have had no shortage of rp, there have been lots of people in Duskwood recently and I am in love with all of you. #MakeDuskwoodGreatAgain

10 Likes

My fellow Azrothians… I’m not a crook.

And if you believe that one I’ve got a bridge in Un’goro to sell you.

3 Likes

To be honest I think it’s 2 things:

1. Shadowlands isn’t that wonderful and didn’t necessarily save us from BFA

2. Shadowlands has a bloody lot to do and there’s just less time for RP

17 Likes

I’ll admit I’m more burnt out on SL’s many layers of eyerolls than I was in BfA.

8 Likes