Staff or Dagger/sword and off hand?

Hey everyone!

I am pretty new to the lock scene, well at least in regards to actually considering maining one.

I am enjoying destro lock a lot, Normally I stick to PvP and dabble a little bit in PvE rarely.

Once I hit 60, I’ll likely switch to affliction until 9.1 hits. I enjoy doing RBGs, and I’ve already seen locks getting booted out of pugs if they join in and people find out their destro not affliction hahaha.

Anyway, my question is, does it matter if I use a staff or one-hander and off hand? I much prefer the Dagger/book look over the staff for cloth casters, but everyone in PvP seems to go staff… Is this just a thing most people do for the looks and everyone following a trend? Or does this actually boost your damage or something else important?

If so, by how much? Like, if I decide I’m going to take Dagger/book anyway, how big of a difference is it actually going to make? I’m not sure how to compare the two, because when I compare a staff to my other two equipped, it only compares it to the main hand.

I also don’t know if the actual damage of the weapon matters either…

Anyway, if anyone can clear this up for me I’d appreciate it! I’ve googled around a lot and I can’t seem to find a clear answer that is recent to shadowlands.

1 Like

There is little if any functional difference for casters. The stat allocation of the weapons themselves is what matters.

1 Like

Ok… That’s good to know.

However that still doesn’t really answer my question. If I pick Dagger/off-hand over staff with the shadowlands PvP gear, am I going to see a loss because of different stats?

And if so, how much?

Depends on the stats of the specific weapons and what your current gear and class/spec is.

If both the dagger or sword and off hand have the same type of stats, and are the same ilvl, and the staff is same stats and ilvl of say haste/mastery, will they add up exactly the same?

if everything was numerically the same they’d be the same.