Sin or Sub?

Im new to rogue and wanted a spec thats ok-easy to pick up but has depth and i can grow as a player. ive been loving assassination but sometimes the damage lets me down. i made this character which i plan to be my main this month. im watching guides etc to get better at interrupting and even did got a mouseouver interrupt macro. someone said Sub is similar to assassination. but wowhead says is kinda unforgiven so i wanted to know from the guys who got rogue experience which spec to play between these 2 (cuz outlaw is too fast, too many things to track and im kinda slow)

Assassination is more forgiving because of its DoT based damage (Damage over Time). This means you not penalized as badly for having to move away from your target. You don’t have to have 100% uptime in order to do good DPS.

Subtlety, on the other hand, is focused on burst damage created by burst windows from Shadow Dance. You only have 8 seconds per minute to blast as much damage as you can. This is what makes Subtlety more punishing. If you mess up the rotation or Shadow Dance gets interrupted, your DPS takes a big hit.

That’s the basic difference in a nutshell. However, there are other nuances that come into play.

1 Like

Dont do assassination if u think outlaw is an issue. Assassination is dotting everything then focusing on a single target and splashing everything out. Then you got snap shotting, pooling energy all while trying to cast vanish, kingsbane, shiv, garrote and thistle tea all at certin seconds of the kingsbane. There is a reason why not many people play assassination. Took me about a week of study and practice to get it down and i still f it up. Outlaw is the easiest so…

That’s because Subtlety does higher DPS even though it’s less forgiving.

1 Like