Profession bonuses to character stats

A while back, there was bonuses to character stats based on the profession you were using. For example, mining gave a stamina bonus. Is this still a thing in retail? If so, what bonuses exist? Took a long break from WoW and everything I’ve read about it online is super old. Just planning my character creations. Yes, I know there are other reasons to choose professions, but I’m asking about the mechanics of how professions affect character stats, whether it be by spell, enchanted equipment, automatic, etc.

Stat bonuses no longer exist with things like stamina for mining, but there are bonuses such as alchemists receiving double the duration on flasks vs. non-alchemists. I’m not a profession expert though, so I can’t say what all the current bonuses are.

1 Like

Here’s context of why I’m asking. This is the path after the base website at Icy Veins that is the article that led me to think they may still exist: /forums/topic/130-profession-bonuses-a-quick-overview/

That icy-veins thread is 12 years old. Nothing in it applies any longer.

1 Like

None of the current bonuses affect game play. There are little convenience perks, and things like the alchemy trinket still exist, but the gathering professions aren’t going to give you bonus stats like they used to. That was removed a few expansions ago. You can see the current state of professions here:

1 Like

My understanding from reading your replies is that there is no character stat bonuses from professions anymore (self-enchants, spells, etc.). Although it doesn’t affect your gameplay in, say, a dungeon, I do understand that there are profession bonuses from certain races (like gnome engineering) though so I’ll take that into consideration instead. Thanks everyone for the replies.

The only use I ever found for a +5 profession skill bonus was back in the day when an engineer could equip amechanical dragonling trinket at level 30.