New Tank Basic Questions

Hi all! I am new to WoW and just completed Tanking Deadmines and Rage Fire Chasm as a Blood Elf Protection Paladin. I have some basic questions I hope the community will adress for my sake:

• Is Hand of Reckoning my only Taunt?

• How do I AoE Taunt trash packs?
    • for example, if I hit an enemy first, do I automatically get aggro
    and if so how long does that aggro last?

• I have zero understanding of something I have heard called Threat. I hear Threat determines aggro, which, if the case, how can a Tank do more DPS that a proper DPS and then what is the purpose of a Taunt? Super confused here.

I greatly appreciate all input and will be returning to read and discuss your responses.

As a Paladin, you have a couple of tools to keep aggro over a group. Primarily, you’re going to be dropping Consecration and using Avenger’s Shield. Both of these will help you hold aggro over enemies. You’ll also have an AOE ability called Shield of Righteousness - this will both mitigate (reduce) damage, and generate Threat.

Threat is basically your aggro. It’s how much of the enemy’s “attnetion” you hold.

As a tank, your damage automatically generates more threat than a DPS player, meaning you don’t have to do near as much damage to generate equal threat to your DPS.

More or less, as long as you’re using your abilities, you will hold aggro.

1 Like

Awesome! Thank you for clarifying trash/AoE aggro. I feel like a basic ‘rotation’ to begin trash fights is to throw Avenger’s Shield and then drop Consecration and then begin using Hammer and Shield of the Righteous.

Yep - that works! Shield + Cons is pretty common. You might want to open with shield and then hammer, though. (Or shield then judgement.) Otherwise that’ll work.

You’ll probably find it getting easier as you level, too. Classes are pretty wonky before, like, 58.

Oh! I also want to say that taunt has two purposes: