New player looking for help

First of all, please allow me to provide a little background so you hopefully have a better idea of what I am trying to achieve with this post. I was a World of Warcraft veteran who started playing in November of 2004 when the original game first launched and I played heavily until the first month into Cataclysm. So, while I am no stranger to how the game works, I don’t remember all of the details of old expansions and that makes me a relative newbie.

Second of all, I would ideally like to find a group of players who are interested in leveling up with me or at least a guild that is not heavily fragmented into cliques of high-level players who don’t want anything to do with a new player.

Lastly, my long-term goal in the game is to hit the level cap within a month and participate in end-game raids. While I have always played a tank, I realize it is probably not possible to come into the game half a year after the initial release and expect to find a raid spot as a tank. Therefore, I am leaning toward making a warrior where I can primarily function as a damage dealer until there is an opportunity for me to tank. Until then, I can gain valuable experience by tanking dungeons and acting as an off-tank when needed.

There is one last catch to all of this. I am looking for a group of people that has a real identity and community outside of raiding. I am also looking for a casual group that wants to clear content in an appropriate span of time, but not at the cost of the relationship between the players. For example, I would like to raid with a group who is willing to play outside of the current meta and allow for non-optimal classes to tackle certain roles (Paladin tank, for example) as long as content is being cleared at a reasonable pace.