Is tanking not for new players?

I’m new to the game. Just subbed yesterday after doing the trial to 20 with a dps toon. I’m really interested in making a tank, but after doing a little searching it almost seems like new players are skill locked out of tanking due to veteran player attitude. Is this true? Or just a minority? Just want to try something new since in almost every mmo I play dps. Don’t want to deal with jerks though. Any feedback/advice is greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Just give it a try and don’t base it on reactions here on the general forums.

Just be sure to slowly increase your challenge. Don’t do a few dungeons in normal and now magically assume you can do Mythic + 5 runs with no issue.

Note also that the better learning now happens actually in like M2 and M3 runs, because most players grossly overgear normal and heroic, so you won’t actually feel the mechanics because mobs will just be erased lol.

2 Likes

Thank you very much for the encouragement and the advice! So much info in just one reply I appreciate it! Rolled a dwarf/pally as that seems interesting to me. Have a lot of learning to do for sure, but if I can find just a few people in game as helpful as you I’m sure I’ll be fine.

1 Like

give it a try with druids (they are the easiest tanks to learn in my opinion)
I use to main DPS (hunter or warrior)…
now tank over rules dps for me. weird but hey I get into groups so much faster, that’s another plus being a tank. :slight_smile:
Like beexee said druids would be the easiest for new players.

1 Like

Well I did already roll a pally, but I suppose I could shelf him for when I’m more comfortable. Easing into tanking with a druid may help with the anxiety. I appreciate the feedback. :slightly_smiling_face:

Dwarf paladins can be fun!
Make sure, at level 50, to do their heritage armor quest!.

A little not on Prot Paladins, especially while leveling, always be ready to use Word of Glory (WoG) to either self heal or off heal your party mates.