Hunter Sets at level 60 in Classic

I started playing Hunters in BC not in Vanilla.

How do you gear for DPS as a Hunter in Classic?

Beaststalker Set is the basic set:

• 2 pieces: +200 Armor
  • 4 pieces: +40 Attack Power
  • 6 pieces: Your normal ranged attacks have a 4% chance of restoring 200 mana.
  • 8 pieces: +8 All Resistances.

By just looking at the set bonuses, it’s the 4pc bonus that we need to get for high DPS. Is 6-pc bonus worth to have? 4% is like 1 proc per 25 auto-shots. Would that be good for 45-min UD run where drinking for mana is omitted? I know we dont have 45min UD run yet.

Now let’s look at the Black Dragonscale (Leatherworking) set.

• 2 pieces: Improves your chance to hit by 1%.
  • 3 pieces: Improves your chance to get a critical strike by 2%.
  • 4 pieces: +10 Fire Resistance.

The 2 pc and 3 pc bonus here is straightforward a very good DPS stats.

Then the Giantstalker set from Molten Core:

• 3 pieces: Increases the range of your Mend Pet spell by 50% and the effect by 10%. Also reduces the cost by 30%.

• 5 pieces: Increases your pet’s stamina by 30 and all spell resistances by 40.

• 8 pieces: Increases the damage of Multi-shot and Volley by 15%.

The 3-pc and 5-pc bonus is just to make pet not to die. So it means, wearing 5-pc of Giantstalker on a regular 5-man is useless becoz the pet usually wont die on 5-man although the high Agi stats of Giantstalker is awesome… and it has +hit and crit stats on some of its pieces. Is the 3-pc/5-pc bonus a big benefit in Molten Core? It’s like the set pieces is requiring us to put points in Beast Mastery instead of the +3 Surefoot in Survival.