How to Gear up..?

Hey everyone!

Let me start I started playing Wow back in legion, I’ve only played retail until last month, I decided to give a shot to classic and Wow! I love it! The journey to 60 was amazing. So much new content that i’ve never done in retail.

Here’s my problem though, I cant seem to be able to get gear upgrades… I’ve got all my “pre raid BiS” in my 60 rogue, without a party finder its nearly impossible to form a raid party… I was told well try GDKP they’re a good way to start gearing so I went a head and did a ZG gdkp, a few upgrades dropped, I was like good! Then came the part to “Bid” on items, so one of the items I did bid in was hakkari girdle started at 100g up to there nice I can bid on this I’ve got 700 golds. Very quickly the item went for 900g sadly I couldnt buy it, then all others pieces went by and I ended up not being able to purchase any pieces… I was like well atleast I’ll get my “cut” and maybe be able to purchase some gear on my next run! When time came for cuts, I was told i’m not getting any cuts because I didn’t buy anything and came in the raid as a “Buyer”.
After arguing on Discord that I was #9 in the DPS charter seems like it’s not enough to get my cut so I went home empty handed…

How am I supposed to gear up as a new player when I dont have a ton of golds. I’ve tried looking for guilds, the issue is I work a 3-2-2-3 job alternating days and night shifts so I can’t get in their raids schedule every weeks and wouldn’t get recruited because of that. I just can’t seem to progress any further where as in Retail I could just hop in the group finder, using addons people could see my io score & gear and tell I was experienced enough and easily get invited in there.

I really enjoy Classic wow and would love to get into end game content but it seems like gold rules everything now a day. No golds, no upgrades. As a new player I feel left behind and it’ doesn’t seem like there’s a good way to catch up in gear.