How many more years before 5K gaming takes off?

So I picked up a deeply discounted refurbished iMac Pro for work from home purposes (my day job is Android + iOS app dev, the latter of which requires macOS), and the 27" monitor built into it looks incredible. With specs of P3 color, 5120x2880 resolution, and 500 nits of brightness it makes my old 1440p IPS panels look solidly mediocre and TN panels I’ve previously owned look like garbage.

It only has a Vega 56, so it’s not really a gaming machine, but if I bump down a few settings to mid (SSAO, liquid, and shadows) it can run WoW at full unscaled 5k at 60FPS and it looks great. With this pixel density, antialiasing isn’t needed at all. Everything is razor sharp, even text and objects way off in the distance.

But if I look at the industry at large, monitors seem super focused on framerate above all else. Brightness, color, viewing angle, and pixel density among other things tend to take a backseat to framerate and sometimes wider aspect ratio, meaning that if you’re looking to game at even 4k your options aren’t nearly as robust as those for 120/144/240hz 1080p/1440p gaming. 5k gaming doesn’t exist at all, with the only 5k monitor being publicly sold being an LG-made Thunderbolt monitor marketed toward Mac users.

But it isn’t as if 5k panels are new. Apple started using them in iMacs all the way back in 2014. They’re not even particularly expensive (tons of standalone panels are on eBay, brand new, for ~$400). They just never took off elsewhere in the industry.

Is this more of a function of limits of GPU power or an indicator of the more popular types of games? I get the appeal of high FPS in competitive stuff, but that’s only a single facet of gaming. In less-twitchy games like WoW, Witcher III, Horizon: Zero Dawn, and Breath of the Wild, framerate is more of a cherry on top and a panel that’s highly competent in other ways is nice to better enjoy the scenery in them.