So, previously, my understanding was that if you did Vault of the Incarnates, and killed a boss, that boss’ loot would be added to the loot table of potential items you could get from the great vault.
In other words, if you had not killed Raz, you would not get any of Raz’s loot from the GV. Once you did, her loot would be on the list of potential items that you could get from the GV in the future, along with that of the other bosses you have killed.
Today, my alt got a tier piece, a helm, from the GV. The helm only drops from Raz, and she has only done LFR, so I was pleasantly surprised to get the piece from the vault without having ever killed the boss.
It does mean my understanding was incorrect though. So, how does it work?
pretty certain the only thing the GV looks at is what ilvl the bosses you did kill drop. meaning if you killed the first handful of bosses but not Raszageth (or Diurna too maybe?) you won’t get the drops from her since they are higher ilvl than everything else in the raid.
You need to defeat a boss at least once for their loot to show up in the Great Vault . Tier sets are exempt from this rule because you can get the pieces from any Mythic+ or PvP slot as well. To unlock items in the raid category, you must: