Holy Priest or Rsham?

Hi, I’ve been looking around to meddle with a healer that doesn’t necessarily stand in melee range and get b!tch slapped into oblivion.

I’ve boiled down to either holy priest or a resto shaman. I’m learning but mainly looking to do M+ (till 15s or if I’m comfortable above) and PvP!

Is the HPS/Utility comparable or would you put one above another? (I most likely won’t dabble in dps specs, pure healing)

Thanks!

R shammy is better than holy priest.

But I’d sooner go with disc priest myself. Then too, it depends on your healing experience and experience playing ranged dps.

As for holy priest? It has two strong merits. First, it is a great healer to learn healing on. Second, you have access to disc once you have tired of holy and want a bigger challenge.

I’ve probably healed 1500 dungeons as disc. I am still learning and improving!

GLHF.

1 Like

Agreed disc is another healing spec and another option as well! Is the overall difference between holy and resto too huge?

Holy just brings less utility then resto when it comes to M+. Both can easily accomplish +15 this season. Both are good specs with holy bringing more single target healing which in today’s kite meta isn’t needed all that often. Resto also brings easier to accomplish damage with Deeptremor legendary. If just picking between the two I would say go resto.

I would strongly recommend Disc priest this season. The new Kyrian legendary has made keys much easier. The cool-down will also decrease further in time as well.

If you’re 100% committed to one toon and 100% committed to healing I would go priest, just because in no time in WoW’s 15 year history has a really good priest been unable to find a raid spot.

If you’re more on the flavor of the month side, I personally can’t stand doing dungeons as disc (I got some 25-33% parses in raids and that’s with 90% of my attention being on raid leading) and maintaining flash concentration I just find really boring.