Help with a rogue Macro~

Heya I’m trying to make a macro for my rogue where I cast ambush if possible, if not possible cast Sinister Strike

Any help would be wonderful!

This is to synergize with the talent that also gives the ability to ambush outside stealth

I’m not a rogue expert, but macros are really fun. Off the top of my head this should work. If it doesn’t let me know and I will figure it out. I love these challenges!

Copy and paste, don’t rewrite:

#showtooltip
/cast [nostealth] Sinister Strike
/cast Ambush

Hiya, thanks for the suggestion but this doesn’t cast ambush if ambush is available, it always prioritizes Sinister Strike :slight_smile:

It works for me, but I don’t know the talent you are speaking of. I can’t solve the question if I don’t know all the pieces. LMK what talent/spell you speak of and I may still be able to help.

For reference: I used Vanish because it puts you in stealth during combat regardless if you have dots etc. When using Vanish this will turn sinister strike into Ambush but after it swaps back to Sinister Strike after Vanish ends and you are no longer in stealth.

Macro’s follow Boolean logic. If X is true then Y, if X is not true, then Z.

X = stance, Y = True, Z = False. Macro’s can’t go past this. Beyond this you can script things, but that goes against Blizzards rules for conduct.

1 Like

Pretty sure the functionality you’re looking for is explicitly not possible. Blizzard doesn’t allow that sort of macro functionality because it’d let priority-focused DPS classes macro a majority, or perhaps the entirety, of their rotation into a single button.

1 Like

^

Pretty much this. If -Then-Else logic isn’t allowed in macros.

Unless I’m not understanding correctly, you can just macro like this:

/use Ambush
/use Sinister Strike

This should skip the first line and cast SS if Ambush isn’t available.