Help for New Healer

I just got Nalia here to level 10 and dungeons opened up. I am brand new to holy priest and rather brazenly (and foolishly) just dove into dungeons (Deadmines, Wailing Caverns Stockades) to try to practice healing. I learned rather quickly that I need some experience and some heeeellllpppp. I wasn’t party-wiping bad…but I wasn’t good either. So, I’m wondering…other than getting Nalia to MoP and running Proving Grounds tests…how can I physically practice healing so I start getting the hang of which buttons to hit at what time? Just running dungeons seems to be the only option but I’m rather afraid of letting people die while I practice. (And yes…I’ve watched tutorials, but watching and doing are two different things).

Can anyone help please?

1 Like

best way is trial and error
dungeons will be the better teacher
Edit: blood dk health is a yo-yo dont freak out about blood dk

3 Likes

Heal Bot…press a heal spell when the health gets low?

take a brief look here

2 Likes

Healing is best learned while doing. Knowing what buttons to press and when comes with experience. People in levelling dungeons aren’t typically mean spirited and aren’t likely to be nasty after a wipe. Only other thing I can suggest is to que with a friend who has healer experience. But I learned just by doing it over and over again after watching / reading a couple guides. Learning healing takes time, its not as straight forward as tanking / dps as its more about reacting at whats happening less about just “doing” things.

1 Like

Just to add to this, for healing Blood DKs you need to pay attention to both their health AND runic power bar.

Only use big heals if the Blood DK has both low HPs and low runic power.

2 Likes

I appreciate all of you very much. I will learn by doing, reading, and watching!

Keep that prayer of mending going ping ping ping ping

3 Likes