Gifted PC - won’t connect to internet

I was gifted a gaming rig from a friend but unfortunately internet connection seems to be a problem. The PC rig is connected to the wall port through an Ethernet cable, but there is no connection to internet.

I am not tech savvy at all, but it was recommended to me that I should purchase a wireless adapter I can plug into the USB port of the PC. Any ideas)

I wouldn’t go the route of a USB to wireless adapter.

I’d check to see if they had manual network settings configured, rather than automatic (DHCP). You can also try running the network troubleshooter in Windows and see if it will correct whatever problem is going on.

Failing those things, it could be a driver issue. You could look into downloading the newest driver for the network adapter that’s in the computer.

Thanks, it looks like all of the network settings are automatic. Where would I go about checking if it’s up to date on the latest driver for that?

Ask them the check that the wall port is connected to the router or network.

1 Like

Only thing I have to what Zungar and the others said is to try a Windows Network Reset. Link in blue.

Cheers!

I’ll start at the beginning…

@OP, do you have Internet service? I don’t mean on a phone or tablet or via 4g or 5g, I mean home internet service?

This piggybacks on what Zungar said, about checking the port. It’s possible the wall port isn’t connected to your network. It’s also possible you don’t have a home network.

What I ask may seem silly, but some folks move into a new home or apartment, see the ethernet ports on the wall, and assume that active service is already in place… not realizing they need to call and activate service.

My dad did exactly this five or six years ago when he moved into a new home. I was like, “Dad! You gotta turn on the service, just like the lights and water!” LOL! :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:)