Gearing up for endgame PVE

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting to the forums.

My first character is almost to level 60 and I have been leveling solo as a feral druid. I chose to go feral because I figured it would be easier to stealth around and quickly get to quest targets without having to deal with things that a ranged caster like balanced would have to deal with.

However, I’m actually wanting to main as a restoration druid for endgame PVE content. I’m under the impression that certain specializations benefit from certain stat points more so than others. My main question is: how do people that, normally main healer, switch from gearing their solo gear to their main role gear?

I assume I just continue on with my current non optimized gear and slowly collect the gear with stats that I need? Seems a bit silly and was just wondering if there was something that I’m missing.

Thanks again for taking the time to read this.

For the early end game content (like heroic dungeons and lfr) you don’t need much optimization in your gear. The big one would be to make sure you have an appropriate weapon. Caster weapons will have a huge amount of Int that your melee weapon doesn’t that will make a very big difference for you power-wise. (Also keep an eye out for healer or general trinkets if you’ve got feral specific ones, but it’s not nearly as important as the weapon.)

Secondary stat optimization is something you’ll start worrying more about as you move into the harder end game content. It’s not needed for the entry level stuff.

You can change your loot spec independent of your current spec which means you can run stuff as feral but get resto gear. If you right click your portrait, loot spec will be one of the options in the menu that pops up. Keep in mind that loot spec doesn’t affect secondary stats. So, changing your loot spec won’t make any difference for getting the “right” secondary stats on armor/rings/necks.

2 Likes