Gathering and Crafting

Remove the gathering professions and add them in to the base crafting professions so that you would have more options to work with. If you choose leather working, you get skinning as part of it. If you choose Alchemy, you get Herbalism as part of it. For Blacksmithing or Engineering, you get mining as part of the base profession.

14 Likes

No thanks. Im a double gatherer.

You apparently did not play through Warlords of Draenor. When everyone could gather their own materials through the garrison. Material prices were so low as to be worthless.

It was the worst period of time in the crafting history of this game.

9 Likes

I’ve been playing since early 2005 so yes, I played through WoD. I also have several characters that are double gatherers, but it would be better if the gathering professions were shoehorned in to the crafting profession the materials are used for. You still can only take two professions, so would need others to do other things for you such as enchanting, potions, whatever for the professions you do not have. Those other players can then post the materials on the AH for you to buy before having one of them craft whatever for you.

2 Likes

Says who? Not any economist, thats for sure.

Material prices tanked during WoD…You seem to not want to address that. When material prices tank, so do the prices for finished crafted items.

Then you need to consider, if everyone can gather the materials they need for themselves…that means all of the people currently gathering will now pick up crafting professions which will add more crafters to the mix, further lowering the final price and profit margin for crafted goods to the point where nothing is worth anything.

You need to think things through.

3 Likes