Estimated storyline length?

Hello, I am completely new to WoW. I decided to give WoW a try (currently using free trial) and wanted to experience the storyline and lore.

I am a story-driven person and really love long storylines. I have played GW2, ESO, and FFXIV and I love their storylines. I wanted to know if WoW (all expansions altogether) offers a similar length of storylines like those MMOs I had played.

Thanks!

WoW does not have an overarching and defined storyline the way that FFXIV does (no idea about GW2 or ESO from that perspective, having never played either).

Instead, WoW has expansion and zone-based stories, where the expansion story (after the Vanilla 1-60 zones) is a sort of general plot “this is why we’re in this particular region” punctuated by major plot points in the form of raid cutscenes (at the end of each raid, and occasionally at the beginning or middle).

Each individual zone often has one or more hub-based storylines (for example, the Westfall zone in the Eastern Kingdoms has a CSI-style plotline that takes you all over the zone).

Globally speaking, there is very little continuation between the plots of each expansion, with the storyline wrapping up entirely at the end of each expansion, and a new storyline taking us to the next region in the following expansion. There are occasionally world-changing events which carry over (e.g. the Cataclysm changed a number of zones in Kalimdor and the Eastern Kingdoms, and those zones remained changed afterwards), but for the most part what you do in one expansion has no impact on any content going forward.

If you’re interested in WoW lore, you might want to check out Youtube. There are a few content creators who specialize in compiling and explaining the lore released in various formats (in-game, novels, comics, etc.). The best of these, historically has been a guy called Nobbel87, and he’s been doing it since pretty much the beginning, so you might want to check his channel out.

1 Like