DESPERATE to fix slow loading times on IMac

hey whats up. So i’m getting my Mac ready for wrath, and i’m trying to fix an issue i’ve had for the longest. I have a late 2013 IMac, and it takes incredibly long to load up any type of graphics. Now im by no means a computer expert, but i know a little bit. the part that is confusing to me is that once everything finally loads, i can run it at 60 fps no problem as long as i have some graphic options lower. This makes me think theres something that i can fix to make everything load better since it can run the actual game no problem. My operating system is updated, and i make sure it doesnt load any other applications on start up. here are my specs

iMac (21.5-inch, Late 2013
2.9 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 1 GB

I’ve tried some stuff i found through google but no luck so far. I’m running Catalina 10.15.7 which to my knowledge is the newest OS i can run on this IMac. If anybody out there can help me fix this i promise i will love you forever.

The issue here is your machine is quite old. Loading screens are slow because of its age.

Even though you are running a classic version of the game, the infrastructure that the game runs under is the same as used in retail. So with each new expansion, the ante is upped in terms of system requirements.

Many will recall that the loading time into Dalaran was quite slow on older architecture when Wrath originally was released. Having an SSD helped with loading times back then. Of course the ante has been upped quite a bit since original Wrath.

If you can tolerate in-game play… consider the loading screen delay as an opportunity to prepare a snack. Otherwise a newer computer is in order.

1 Like

Ouch well that’s deflating. Appreciate you letting me know tho. It’s so frustrating cause I’ve been searching everywhere for something I can do but I guess it’s best that I just come to terms with it.

Edit: wrong character lol