Deserter Debuff For Being Kicked Is a Tad Much

In a perfect world I kind of understand getting deserter if you’re kicked - you must have done something wrong and having some time to think about it wouldn’t hurt. But with the toxicity of the current WoW playerbase, it’s not an appropriate punishment in many cases. Losing the time you invested in the run should be enough.

I can count the times I’ve been removed from a group on one hand since I started playing in vanilla, and last night I was removed from a timewalking group right before the first boss. I don’t pull mobs ahead of the tank, I never flame or troll, and nothing was said in the group prior. The only thing I can think of is that I used Misdirection on the tank at the start of a pull because I had pulled threat on one or two mobs, as there was a big gear difference. No big deal - that’s what FD and MD are for. But I think maybe he was insulted by it, like I was telling him he can’t hold threat? Or he thought I was using it to pull mobs to him? I can’t be sure.

Regardless, I was removed and got a deserter debuff. I just kind of laughed because you have to be incredibly insecure to boot someone like that. Still, a tad annoying to have to jump to an alt.

Anyway, maybe leave off the deserter debuff when kicked in today’s WoW. It’s not always done with honest intent.

3 Likes

yah, I was in a group the other day and we got to the last boss and for some strange reason they kicked me… so not only did I not get to finish the instance I ended up with a 30 minute debuff

2 Likes

It’s one of those things where Blizzard decides It’s best to punish everyone just to make sure a few don’t exploit getting intentionally kicked.

2 Likes

In a perfect world, there would be no kicking.

1 Like