Cross-faction, how's it going so far?

Now that we’ve had cross-faction for a bit, I would like to start a discussion about some of the barriers I’ve encountered after switching to alliance in EU, which is horde dominated. A bit of a back story as of my relation to the factions is in place as I feel like it explains why I want to move.

TL;DR: skip the “My Story” part if you’re not interested. I was longing to go back to the Alliance for a long time, but couldn’t leave my friends on the Horde side behind.

You can read the story if you’re interested in the details, because I feel like this is important to explain why I think more changes are required for cross-faction to really work

My Story

When I started playing, close to the release of 7.3.5, I started out on an EU realm that was recommended for new players. I was invited to a guild, and while I initially started out as horde, I had a longing to go back to the Alliance. Go back you might say? Yes, I have touched WoW before, and that was always as alliance. This was through several trial accounts when I was younger; once in wrath, and once in MoP where a coworker boosted me to 90 and I then quit because I had no idea what to do. I had a longing for Stormwind and it wouldn’t go away.

Back to 7.3.5; BfA was coming in close and there was talking the guild to move to the alliance in general. I did what I thought was the right choice and bought a faction transfer. My guild members did not transfer in the end and I was left alone. (no, this is not a drama time story where they ditched me :eyes: ). BfA had a rocky release and as I was still fairly new to WoW, the punishing scaling of level+ilvl vs open world content, paired with incredibly annoying server issues (like world bosses have), I ended up quitting.