Creating Space & Effective Kiting in PVP

I’ve been playing hunter for a few months now, and this is something I still struggle with in pvp once melee classes get on me. This goes for both arena and battlegrounds.

It seems like melee have a plethora of stuns/slows/gap closers on short cooldowns that make it difficult to get off them. I have a single stun (intimidation,) single slow shot (concussive,) two traps that have to be landed to help, and posthaste.

I feel like I can pop all of these and am still unable to keep distance long enough in order to DPS opponents down before the inevitably get back on me. I’m not backpedaling, just strafing while turning the camera.

Does anyone have tips for effective kiting? Is my DPS low because of my stats? Is this just how hunters are at the moment? Any tips or constructive criticism is welcome.

1 Like

What spec are you PvPing as? Your gear showing PvP but your talents are saying PvE.

1 Like

First off you must resist the instinct to use your traps or disengage as soon as a melee gets on you. Use concussive shot and start trying to run. If you can open enough space to force them to use a gap closer with a single concussive you’re golden for awhile.

Pretty much at that point it’s a game of cat and mouse. They close, you open/trap. Keep concussive up on them as much as possible and just live with the fact that pretty much every melee but paladin are going to catch up to you fairly frequently. As long as you keep your cool, concussive shot up, and match their closers as close to 1 for 1 as possible, you should be able to kite them for a significant amount of time. The likelihood that you’ll kill them is low, but if you can buy yourself enough time for help to arrive, then you may stand a chance.

Also, if there is more than 1, there is no god strong enough to let you kite them.

3 Likes

I too am fairly new to this xpac and have been getting a decent amount of experience with BGs, none with arena.