Crafting: The good the bad & the ugly

I’ve been playing WOW for a long time–since 2005-- and while the game as been entertaining, from the beginning I’ve felt that the crafting system could have been better. That’s not to say it’s terrible, it’s just not as “good” as it could have been.

I was encouraged to see that a small fix is coming in Shadowlands. However, an improvement, what’s been revealed will still not give us the basic tools to really improve the current system.

1. Why not give players the ability to select the appearance of the final product before they craft it? You can transmogrify things now in BFA if you don’t like the look, but why not allow crafters to select the appearance in the making process? Have a list of standard appearances from which one can choose (doesn’t have to have the appearance of elite objects).

2. Allow crafters to change the color of items both current and ones they are making from the original color to one that they choose. I really hate clown costumes–armor/clothing that doesn’t match. If City of Heroes could make a complete color chart for costumes why can’t WOW? This game has 100x the resources and money that COH had.

3. Allow crafters to set the secondary attributes of the items…they’re already doing that in Shadowlands but this could be done using the "of the _____ " form by using different materials.

4. Fix the logic problems in the system.
    –Why can’t you make tailoring items of the same type at the same level? example: Mageweave robes, gloves, belts, heads, boots, legs have a stupidly spread out range in terms of level. By the time you get to your last item of that type, the first item is mostly obsolete. If you’re going to make an outfit of a particular type, have the recipe’s all available at the same skill level.
    –Let players set the level of the item they are going to make; and their success dependent on their crafting skill in their profession.