Complexity is killing the game

Hey everyone,

Do you think the game has become too complicated, causing new players to become overwhelmed?

How long do you think it would take for a new player to reach a competitive level where they are viable in both PVP and PVE and do you think that time is acceptable in today’s standards?

Below I have put a real-world example which motivated me to write this post followed by a few recommendations which I believe could improve the game.

I have been playing WoW on and off for past 15 years and recently my girlfriend decided she wanted to play with me. She is a competitive gamer and enjoys playing games like LoL and Counterstrike. She picked up the basic easily. I began teaching her about class abilities, then addons, then macros, then borrowed powers, then DR and then… I lost interests and so did she.

I began wondering if other players experienced this and if so, I thought of some simple changes that could address this problem and potentially attract new players. Let me know what you think.

1. Reduce Passive abilities : Most passive abilities are boring and underwhelming, making the game unnecessarily complex. Passive abilities are part of each class, spec, talents, PVP talents and borrowed power systems like Soul binds. Passive abilities have their place however most of the current passives today just feel like lazy game design.

2. Remove the need for Addons : Addons bloat the game and add a further learning curve. Addons should exist but should not be mandatory. Since the addon’s data are saved locally it is far to inconvenient to play on different systems. Every time I return to the game, I spend a couple of hours installing and setting up addons, how boring!