Chromie time and leveling in a different expansion

My son and I are leveling new characters together (allied races), and I am trying to decide on an xpac in which to do it. I am new to Chromie time but understand that we can choose to level from 10-60 through any prior expansion. I am not looking to speed level as this is my son’s first real exposure to WoW, and I want him to savor it.

Of the available expansions, Legion would offer the artifact weapons and class mounts, and I believe these would be retained after hitting level 50 and moving to DF (the weapon(s) as skins for transmog). I have already done the BfA war campaign and Zandalar quests 2+ times to unlock zandalari and vulpera for my son and me and have no real interest in doing these again. I hated WoD (and missions in general) and never want to do garrison mini-gaming again.

Are there any other xpacs that offer anything as compelling as Legion? Aside from interacting with Chromie, selecting Legion, and starting the breadcrumb quest, is there anything else we need to do? Are there any notable differences in the gear acquired across expansions? My preference is to not use heirlooms as they devalue quest rewards and dungeon drops.

I’m getting 2 different vibes from this as to the goal. On one hand you’re asking about long term rewards and whatnot, and on the other you want him to savor the experience. The latter indicating to me that story is an important consideration. So I guess depending on what you mean would effect the answer.

As for the “stuff you get out of it” side, it’s hard to argue with legion giving weapon skins and class mounts. That would be my go to from a veteran perspective if I needed any of those.