Can't win a single pet battle

Hello everyone. I a new WoW player and in need of help.

I started playing the game recently and received the Anima Wyrmling pet. I then started the “learning the ropes” quest, which requires a pet battle win. I proceeded to face all kinds of pet battles, all to the same result:

• My pet has around 150 health and takes about 30 damage per turn, from whatever pet I face, even the small ones like rats or bunnies.

• I can only hit for 6 damage, the first ability that Anima Wyrmling has available.

• The pets I face have more than 100 health.

In summary, my pet is usually down in a few rounds. And the pet I was facing only got a few hits in, nothing close to killing it.

What am I doing wrong?

I can’t find anything that I could beat at all…

Put simply, the Anima Wyrmling just isn’t really very impressive offensively - It’s more of a support pet (amp magic + portal into a big move is a neat combo). It’s weak offensive moveset is super apparent at low levels unfortunately, Siphon life sucks as your only move.

Your best bet would honestly be just trying to complete the quests with a different pet

I don’t have a different pet. How do I get another one without battling one?

There are vendors who sell pets, or the auction house. Not all pets on the AH are expensive. I know the Winter’s Helpers generally for a 1g or so on my server. Just sort the tab by price low to high and see what you can get. Just remember: I don’t think you can use bought level 25s until you’ve gotten your first pet to 25 through leveling or a stone.

As Amyita pointed out, you can’t add a purchased pet to your collection if it’s a higher level than pets you already have. So you’re looking for a level 1.

I’d recommend buying a Cornish Rex Cat from vendor in Elwynn Forest, costs under 50 silver. She’s in a cottage halfway between Northshire and Goldshire, near the road. The Cornish Rex is a great fighter.