Arcane in PvP

Hi everyone!

My name is Fitzban and I have played Arcane almost exclusively as my main since 2011. I participate in all the content WoW has to offer, including Arenas, M+, and Mythic raiding. I even have my Spelltome mount! While I have tried the other Mage specs, Arcane is by far my favorite and I probably would not be playing Mage at all if it didn’t exist.

Our spec is pretty good in PvE, but I’m writing this post in regards to our PvP performance. This season I reached Duelist as Arcane for the first time ever. It was not easy. In fact, being 2167 in 3s and 2099 in 2s (I know) actually puts me in the top 30 Arcane players in NA - something that is a lot less impressive than it might sound as Arcane is currently the least played spec in arena (Source: Drustvar). I am by no means an expert PvP player, but when a spec’s representation on the leaderboards is 0.2% (Source: LudusLabs), it’s not exactly difficult if you have the patience to spend half of your time playing locked out of your only casting school.

With that being said, I would like this post to serve as megathread of sorts for brainstorming and constructive feedback about Arcane in PvP. I know I am not the first to do this - but I don’t know where else to turn to make my voice heard. I am not a game designer, but here are some ideas I’ve come up with to alleviate the frustration of playing the spec in PvP:

• Allow [Presence of Mind] to be used to cast Polymorph like it was back in previous expansions. This was a great piece of Arcane flavor that was maybe a bit too strong, but it would be nice to be able to use it on something other than just Arcane Blast. Right now Arcane can be locked out of casting when using offensive spells or CC, as opposed to the other mage specs who can keep doing damage if they’re kicked while casting Polymorph.