Addon.bool.no question Scripting help needed

Hi all, I’m trying to auto run scripts on log in to edit my frames and cast bars along with disabling my stance bar and moving my buff/debuff bar down.

When ran macro by macro the changes work just fine, however when I compile them on addon.bool.no and run that addon I only get about half of the UI changes expected.

My first thought it that the objects that are trying to be edited haven’t been loaded but this is my first time trying the site. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Your ‘first thought’ could very well be correct. Some widgets are load-on-demand, triggered by functions at https://www.townlong-yak.com/framexml/9.1.0/UIParent.lua#518 .

Force the widgets to load right away

A simple, brute-force approach that is easiest if you are doing this for your own use only.

AchievementFrame_LoadUI()
-- now you can modify the appearance of AchievementFrame

Delay your modifications until the widgets appear

Using lua to hook the function, so you can trigger your addon the first time it loads without forcing it to load early. More complicated, but also avoids inefficiency from forcing everything to load needlessly. Only recommended if you are building an addon for other people besides yourself.

The code below checks if the frame exists already – it shouldn’t, but another addon might have triggered it already so this sanity check avoids problems.

local isFirstTime = true

local function yourModifications()
    if (isFirstTime) then

-- do something cool here

isFirstTime = false
    end   
end

if (AchievementFrame) then
    yourModifications()
else
    hooksecrefunc("AchievementFrame_LoadUI", yourModifications)
end

Load your addon with the other one

If your modifications are all associated with the same Blizzard frame, then you could also add an instruction to the TOC file to just make it always load immediately after the Blizzard’s does.