11.0.5 elemantal shaman mechanisms feedback

First of all, I would like to express my deep gratitude for the continued interest and willingness to improve elemental shaman in this expansion. I have been playing elemental shaman for over 10 years, and I believe there has never been so much improvement. Thank you for all these patches.

But, I want to analyze the negative aspects of the current rework. I appreciate the attempt to make the rotation involve using a variety of skills. However, that doesn’t mean these changes should be interpreted as good.

1. Talent build

First, let’s address the changes to ASC. ASC is making Overload significantly stronger.

I believe that ASC has become a CD primarily for AoE, due to the Overload mechanism of CL. CL’s Overload increases linearly with the number of targets. Overload from 6 targets is double that of 3 targets, and this is even more true when considering SK. (Of course, we will naturally use SK along with ASC.)
A 6-target SK CL with Surge results in 36 Overloads. How many Overloads happen with 1 target? 3.

Making Overload this powerful leads to this problem and will turn us into an AoE monster.

Now let’s look at DRE. I think DRE is currently undertuned. The proc chance is too low for something triggered by a Spender. But when you examine the mechanics, this too is primarily an AoE talent. That’s because in AoE situations, we are inevitably able to use more Maelstrom, and during ASC, we can use even more Maelstrom, leading to more ASC procs. From here, it enters the realm of RNG. The more ASC procs, the more Maelstrom we get, and the more ASC procs again. This version is worse because we need more targets to use more Maelstrom.