What if Arthas didn't take Frostmourne?

I’m sure this question has been asked before, but since I don’t see any recent posts about it, I thought you guys wouldn’t mind. So, in general, how do you think Warcraft 3’s story, and World of Warcraft’s lore, would’ve changed if Arthas had listened to Muradin’s warning and didn’t take up Frostmourne or maybe even destroy the sword somehow? Do you think Lordaeron would’ve fallen anyway? Or would Arthas have actually saved his people somehow? I’d like to see what your thoughts on this are.

By the way, I’m new to this game and love the story so far, please don’t hurt me.

EDIT: I know there’s videos and stuff that answer this question, but I specifically wanted to know the opinions of people in the Warcraft 3 community.

this would destroy the character arc for him and make the game story more boring

1 Like

No i defeated Mal’ganis without frostmourne i kept him in an arrow tower prision and afked for a few hours and when i got back he was still dying. Legends has it he’s still respawning to this very day

Probably the most realistic answer right here.

Would have been a good idea for a cavern of times dungeon in WoW.
I try to spekulate how it would destroy the history.
As Arthas did not lost his soul and became the Lich Kings champion he would haver destroyed Lordaeron and Quel’thalas. This would either make one of two things that destroy history.
It would either prevent Illidan from finding the Skull of Gul’dan, getting so mighty enough to build an army of demon hunters or as the Quel’dorei never got decimated, instead the Legion totally destroyed them, making it so unable for Kael’thas to go for outland to search for a cure of the magic hunger and so unable to rescue Illidan after he got trapped by Maiv which would prevent Illidan from creating the Illidari too.
So without the Illidari when the Legion attacked for the third time, there would have been no army to fight them prepared and to disable Mardum.