Custom Game Bug

Once you start downloading a custom game map, you can back out (via ESC), but if you re-enter Custom Game mode, the downloader is still there, forcing you to sit and download the map. There is no way to cancel the download.

Most maps are downloaded by most people in a matter of seconds, so I’ve never really seen this as a significant issue.. While it is well known that there is no cancel button, it was designed that way, it’s not a bug, it’s a potentially unpleasant feature.

I’ve actually seen this issue, it’s odd and doesn’t happen to everyone, but it has happened to me before.

Not sure what fixes it.

oh, it happens to everyone, you just usually don’t notice unless you have a very slow internet connection because most maps are not more than a few MB and even larger ones that might be 100MB or more don’t really take that long, again unless you’re on a very slow connection.

It’s not really a bug per se, they just didn’t design the download screen with a cancel button. So it’s more a poorly designed feature rather than a malfunction. When making it they probably just decided, like I’ve been thinking, that most of the time the download will finish before you could even click a cancel button so they didn’t bother to include one.