Starting SC1 after SC2

Hey guys,

I just switched over from SC2 to SC1 remastered and have started laddering.

I was diamond 2 level in SC2 and master rank a long time ago (WOL), however im struggling quite a lot in the initial games of SC1, I lost like 6 games in a row before getting my 1st win, and the competition seems really stiff even in the noob leagues.

Just looking for some tips here, is the ladder really really though even in the lower leagues here? Everyone seems to have higher APM than me, and zerg always seems to have a lot of units super fast so I die to the 1st hydra push (I play protoss).

Overall, the game seems super fun so far and I am in it for the long run, but it would be good to know what the differences between SC1 and SC2 are unit wise and how to actually learn to play the game without getting crushed when just starting out.

Kind regards,

Myrnn.

Hi! Welcome to SC1! :slight_smile:

I’m not a 1v1 player myself anymore, but even when I started playing years ago, I still felt overwhelmed but the weakest players.

If I were in the same position as you, I’d watch all these great videos made by our beloved Day[9], which cover the basics of Starcraft and a lot more:

After that, I’d check out this page, which presents a compilation of great Starcraft resources, put up together by TheEngineeringBay:
https://github.com/TheEngineeringBay/Starcraft-Community-Resources

Ultimately, I’d play against the bots created by the starcraftai.com community, using SCHNAIL, created by Sonko, found here:
https://schnail.com/#/home
SCHNAIL only works with Starcraft v 1.16.1, not with Starcraft Remastered. If you beat the hardest bot on SCHNAIL you are as good as a low B on the battlenet ladder, if I’m not wrong.

Here’s a video of the creator himself showing how SCHNAIL works: