Pushing Engine Limits?

I’ve been playing SC for about 10 years now, and, er, I was wondering about the current engine limits. I am not sure if remastered uses the same engine as classic BW (probably does).

If so, it seems the limits can be pushed a bit, if the extended unit limits work as intended. This being said I’d like to see the possibility of-

• Larger maps, larger than 256x256
  • Extended command limits (200+)
  • Larger player numbers (more than 8, perhaps 12)
  • A larger unit selection cap (more than 12)

Judging from the new content presented in Remastered this seems plausible. Thus I’d guess the only reasons it wouldn’t happen would be due to keeping the original feel of the game or simply lack of developer interest.

1 Like

Yes it uses the same old engine so everything you point in here is impossible today.

“Modernizing” and engine can be a very difficult task to cover because by doing so people tend to brake gameplay and also dynamics that the game and players have been using for years, its a very hard thing to accomplish “modernizing” an old engine without losing some of its features. We tend to think that behind every game there is a huge team of people working when in reality most of the time they are just humans with very specific goal and task set in terms of production, they have to be efficient overall.