Absolute noob guide to modifying SC AI (no mods)

Fully compatible with SC: Remastered AND SC 1.16.1

staredit (.) net/topic/18202/
Remove parenthesis

It’s my first tutorial ever, so please comment on the quality of it.

2 Likes

This is very helpful for the likes of me; can it be used to affect Melee AI?

1 Like

It works only on UMS. However, you could modify all the insane AI’s and execute Zerg insane if opposing player owns a hatchery, Terran insane if opposing player has a Command Center and Protoss insane if player owns a Nexus

Of course, you have to be wary of this old bug
tl (.) net/forum/brood-war/569291-zerg-ai-scripts-not-working
Remove parenthesis
I encountered way before 1.15 even, so it has nothing to do with Remastered

1 Like

Absolutely :100: interesting.
The fact that doesn’t requires :skull: modding makes it the solution for me. Due the fact the only thing that kept my attention over mods was the AI customization. I have suspected there was a way to avoid modding.
I’ll have to check :heavy_check_mark: that out and try it as soon as I can.

Re-arranging built-in/Blizzard/default AI build order steps, well, might be interesting/fun for a while, but it doesn’t make the built-in AI smarter/stronger, and it’s also not easy for every1 to modify,

If you want a REAL custom AI, but works only for SC 1.16, (But Bli :zzz: ard will add it to SCR in the next 20 years, hopefully :roll_eyes:) there is BWAPI, BWAPI Revamped.

2 Likes

But, you could use a BWAPI AI as a template to modifying one stock AI, right?
Open one BWAPI-modified ai/bwscript.bin file, copy the contents of a modified AI, paste into a stock AI in a stock ai/bwscript.bin, like insane, or whatever, actually, save and export to triggers. Am I wrong?