What are Mercy mains thinking?

The idea of this post is to inform the people are genuinely questioning Mercy mains and don’t understand how or why they feel the way they do. I’m making this post to hopefully help explain it for everybody. Edit: I’ve made some changes in response to feedback to the thread.

Disclaimer:

I do not speak for everyone, this is a generalisation based off everything I have been reading on the forums lately. I have over 600 hours on Mercy so I have plenty of experience to draw from when it comes to discussing her strengths and weaknesses. I want to try my very best to remain unbiased, impartial, open-minded and respectful.

Let’s start with why Mercy mains are unhappy.
A reply to this thread said it better than I ever could but basically: Mercy players want to feel like their choices in a match can actually accomplish something.

Let’s move on to why some people were unhappy at the recent PTR buff.
Okay so imagine you have $100. I take $20 from you and I decide to give you back $10 later.
How does that make you feel?
I’d be surprised if you said it made you feel good. You used to have $100 now you have $90
That’s just a little example of how this buff feels because it is a partial revert to the 60hps nerf. We already know how Valkyrie with 60hp/s plays out.
Personally I’m just happy to be finally receiving a buff in any capacity although I will be disappointed if this is it. The Mercy community is afraid the devs will think “Okay Mercy is in a good spot right now” and leave her as is for months and months. They also feel this change doesn’t address any of our concerns (such as she is no longer that fun to play in this reworked state) nor is it the change we wanted or have been asking for.

If you’re thinking "Too bad it’s not what YOU wanted, it’s what the devs have decided is best for their game. Then please read this section.

Read me :)

Actually the devs have contradicted themselves with every Mercy balance change.