Used Overwatch as an ESL lesson plan. Almost got fired

Short version: used OW as a lesson plan, boss didn’t like it. Almost got fired. Boss acted like he had no prior knowledge but I proved him wrong with screen shots from whatsapp. He didn’t like that.

Long version as follows:

Hello world, My name is Aaron, an ESL teacher and I almost lost my job because I used Overwatch as my material source.

The title may seem simple but the story is not. Let me explain

I am an ESL teacher here in Spain, I have been here for almost 12 years and I love teaching. There is nothing better than seeing a student’s face when something clicks into place.

I’m a big advocate of finding different ways to educate my students. Sometimes as a teacher you need to think outside of the box. The box is often rote and students get bored of the same old lesson plans “open book to page 25 and read the exercise and then answer the questions” is a common example of this. I’m sure we all remember those days yeah?

I have been using games as a way to keep my ESL kids interested in learning more English for at least 5 years. Keep in mind the events discussed here pertain to kids between the age of 11 and 16 on average. And in this specific situation, it was with 5th and 6th graders.

At my current academy of employment, I have used games for the past 3 years. I’ve used simple flash games to video games such as WOW, Fortnite, Overwatch and others. I use them mostly to teach vocabulary, verbs and adjectives. It is always done in a simple way. For example with wow I just go outside the gates of Org or SW and go over simple verbs such as CLICK, JUMP, USE, MOUNT/RIDE on a character that I let the class pick. It could be one of my own or one that they design from the character creation screen. The creation option of WOW is great because you can select different options that help build vocabulary. This is a fantastic way to help them learn and put into practice the adjectives they are learning.