Overwatch 2 is unoptimized for PC

Hi guys so I want to start off by saying I’ve been playing Overwatch on Pc since 2018 and The Original Overwatch use to run like butter on my old Rig.

I RUN BOTH OW 1 AND 2 ON ULTRA LOW SETTINGS WITH EVERYTHING SET TO LOW AND RENDER RESOLUTION SET TO 50% percent

Which was i5- 6600k. GTX 970

And I do consider my self a bit of computer guy. and I am running OW 2 on a New PC
I5- 6600k , GTX 1070 Ti [8 gigs]

So lets get to the point
The IND back in OW 1 was always 20 and always remained 20

While OW 2 on default was the IND on 22
and it just spikes up randomly. and its runs like its having a struggle to go on.

I don’t get it why? Everything on my pc is optimzed for gaming to the point I am using windows lite [Only important programs that are needed]
My nvidia settings are all set to performance mode and I have high performance on

I even launch and run OW from the ow folder instead of Battle net incase battle net would cause any lag. and I only have OW running along side Discord

I have seen streamers with GOD TIER pc’s have the same lag I do, although some have it to a lesser extent.

So is OW 2 unpotimzed for pc? is this a console game that was badly ported to PC or is just a buggy unpotimized mess?

Again reminder, I have everything on optimize and I have NOTHING OVERCLOCKED

I’m on A 500 GB HDD

8 Likes

its def not optimized but what fixed some issues for me was setting overwatch .exe to high priority in task manager.

though if ur planning on running other applications in the background while playing on high priority it might lag those programs

Before upgrading PCs, my previous one had an i3 10100 and a GTX 1650 in it and ran the game on mostly high/ultra settings at a locked 80fps, with almost zero dips ever and no stuttering. Even in team fights it wouldn’t dip at all. This was backed by frametime graphs…