Mercy's "Dr. Ziegler" skin is inaccurate

I’m a current medical student and I just wanted to point out an inaccuracy about the new Mercy skin (despite being a really awesome concept). The coat that she’s wearing in the skin is that of a medical student, not a doctor, as it ends above the knees. Graduated physician coats always end below the knees. We actually use coat length to tell doctors and students apart in a hospital setting. Blizzard should change this… unless we’re playing as medical student Mercy (in which case she wouldn’t have the “DOCTOR” badge either).

52 Likes

Did you heal anyone as well?
I know I’m a monkey.

2 Likes

I mean, this is from a fictional timeline where things could be different.
Because the last time I checked, doctors also couldn’t bring back the dead on a whim. Nor do they have a magical healing staff or wear a suit that grants them the ability to fly/glide.

53 Likes

We also have to take into account that this is set in the future maybe things have changed or maybe Mercy just loves to wear this type of coat whos to know?

Always remember positivity is :key:
:ribbon::reminder_ribbon::ribbon:

And let the festivities begin :snowman_with_snow::christmas_tree::snowman:

10 Likes

It could also be that she’s working in basically an aid camp in Cairo it sounds like. Perhaps they don’t much care there about what’s actually proper. It would also be slightly cooler to be a bit shorter. OR in the fictional alternate reality that is Overwatch, doctors wear shorter coats XD

19 Likes

Or they hired people directly from rule 34.

7 Likes

If this is a reference, I’m afraid it went over my head.

Also also is this the same practice in Europe, where Mercy is from?

Also also also a long lab coat is not practical in many medical contexts; shorter coats are likely more practical in emergency care in the Egyptian desert than a below-the-knee coat

6 Likes

Well Mercy is also a combat medic I don’t think a long lab coat would be very fun :sweat_smile: