How much dmg blocked is good as tank?

I recently started playing tank more often and I’ve been getting over 10,000 dmg blocked as Sigma on end cards. Just wanted to know what’s standard for each rank/lvl. I’m lvl like 560 and am high gold/almost plat again.

I never got this kind of dmg blocked as Orisa and I’m just curious.

My avg is around 30000 on Orisa or Rein and around half that on Sigma

That’s the wrong stat line. There isn’t a stat line for tanks that really get at it.

For rein you should be competing for gold dmg every game with like 6.5-7.5 deaths per 10 min.

For orisa you should look at offensive assists, dmg per 10, and dmg blocked. You can get her deaths under 6. I played orisa for 2 years before she was meta, I would block like 25k back when I played her against Reinhardt. Dunno about now.

For winston, prob look at jump pack kills and primal melee %. Primal melee over 50 is good. Pros are 65%.

For ball, honestly don’t know what stat would explain what a good ball is. Not even deaths, even the best hamsters die a lot. As hamster just put nonstop pressure all over them. Never stop moving and rolling thru people.

The point is, main tanking isn’t about dmg blocked. It’s more about how much pressure you can put on the enemy team without dying. The good main tanks play very fast and always as aggressive as is safe for them. That’s how you dominate from main tank role. Exert presence over them.

When you’re learning main tank, you’re never going to be aggressive and dominant enough if you don’t just… feed… at times. You should be pushing the hero to get the intuitive sense of how much aggression you can get away with. Then you’ll get better over time sensing the level of danger you’re in and if you should be there or not.

Know what I mean? You have it backwards. Anyone can hold a shield. A good main tank jams the shield down their throat

6 Likes