Controller Settings: Brief Guide For New Players

As we’ll surely have some new players joining I wanted to take the opportunity to quickly go over some of the aim settings OW has to offer and what their impact is.

Hope this is of use!

I’ll refrain from providing my own settings. The purpose of this post is to help inform you in such a way that you can better find your own ideal settings.

I’ve tried to keep this brief and my explanations are based on reading/watching about OW controller settings since I started playing 5 years ago so I may better wrangle the beast!

AIM TECHNIQUES

Dual Zone:

With Dual Zone your analog has two sensitivity areas.

The “inner” radius covers about 90% of stick motion. In this zone you’re sensitivity will increase linearly, but it will be MUCH slower than your maximum sensitivity.

When you hit the final 10% of your stick range there will be a bear instantaneous ramp up to your set sensitivity.

Theoretically you get the best of both worlds here, accuracy and a high turn speed. I often think it tries to emulate mouse movement a little.

Exponential Ramp:

Not too much to say here. Your aim curve ramps up exponetially until you hit your maximum turn speed at 100% stick deflection. This curve will be very familiar to those coming from other shooters such as CoD.

Linear Ramp:

With this curve your sensitivty ramps up on a 1 to 1 curve or rather, funnily enough, linearly. So this would mean 30% stick deflection equates to 30% your turn speed.

This is a very useful aim style, but it has a MAJOR caveat. Because it is entirely 1:1 minimum stick deflection tends to deliver TOO much movement, particularly at higher sensitivities and small aim adjustments can be hard to make as a result.

Fortunately a solution to this problem was patched in to the game and that is “AIM EASE IN” which I’ll comment on directly below.

OTHER SETTINGS

Aim Ease In: